Adeyemi replaces Melaye in Senate

The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, on Wednesday, administered oath of office on Smart Adeyemi as senator representing Kogi West senatorial district.

Adeyemi, who was sworn in at exactly 10.32am now replaces Senator Dino Melaye in the upper chamber.

Adeyemi defeated Melaye in both the November 16 rerun election and November 30 supplementary poll in the senatorial district and was declared winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The new Kogi West senatorial district representative took both oaths of Office as a senator and oath of allegiance to the Federal Republic of Nigeria, conducted by the Clerk of the Senate, Mr. Nelson Ayewoh.

With Adeyemi’s inclusion, the All Progressives Congress is still in firm control of the red chamber with 63 members.

The Peoples Democratic Party follows with 45 senators and the Young Peoples Party has one member, Senator Ifeanyi Ubah.