Ogun Assembly Okays Transition Committees For 19 LGs

The Ogun State House of Assembly has approved the nomination of 19 out of the 20 Chairmen and members of the Transition Committees for the Local Government Councils sent to the lawmakers by the State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun, for ratification and approval, barely twenty four hours after their screening, in line with Sections 40(1) of the State Local Government Law, 2000.

The Assembly’s approval was consequent upon the presentation of the report of the Committee on Selection by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff, who also moved the motion for its adoption, seconded by Hon. Akeem Balogun and supported by the Whole House through a voice vote, at a Plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon Olakunle Oluomo.

Following the adoption of the report, Yusuf thereafter moved for confirmation of the 19 nominees, seconded by Hon. Balogun and unanimously supported by all the lawmakers through a voice vote.

The report partly reads, “Members examined their curriculum vitae, credentials and interviewed them. They were all found to be eligible and suitable to assume the exalted office of the Chairman, Vice Chairman, Secretary and member of Local Government Transition Committee in their various Local Government Areas of Ogun State.

The screening of the nominee for Chairman and members of Ipokia Local Government Transition Committees was suspended till further notice, in honour of the Chairman nominee, Late Mr. Shuaib Adeosun.

The Committee therefore recommend the screened nominees for confirmation as Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and members of Transition Committees in 19 Local Government Councils, having found them eligible and suitable, in consonance with provision of Section 40(1) of the Local Government Law of Ogun State, 2000″.