Ogun Inagurates Nigeria for Women project.

The Ogun State Steering committee for the Nigeria for Women Project, NFWP, has been inaugurated in Abeokuta.

The committee comprising the state Commissioners of Finance, Agriculture, Commerce and lndustry, as well as the Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development alongside the Ministry’s Permanent Secretary is to be Chaired by the Deputy Governor, Engineer Noimot Salako-Oyedele.

Inaugurating the Committee in her office in Oke Mosan, the Deputy Governor said the Women Project is a World Bank credit facility, to support improved livelihoods for women in targeted areas in the Country.

‘Women empowerment is very important, for instance we are currently running ‘the okowo Dapo’ where beneficiaries are given soft loans, to enable them set up businesses of their choice, we are therefore very happy that the world bank is supporting us on this latest project which is dear to us’ she informed.

She assured that the Committee would ensure that the targeted women benefit from the program, saying that women empowerment is key to the Governor Dapo Abiodun-led administration.

In a welcome address the Commissioner for Women Affairs and social development, Honourable Olufunmilayo Efuwape noted that the project will provide a lead way for women to benefit the federal government as well as the World bank programme.

Also, speaking the Commissioner for Finance and Chief Economic Adviser to Governor Abiodun, Mr Dapo Badejo said the team would work hard towards achieving the goals and deliver its key objectives within the set time frame.

Addressing the new Committee through virtual media, the World Bank Task Team Leader, Mr Micheal Ilesanmi said the project which is a flagship would open up more opportunities for empowerment and economic dependence for women is the first of its kind in Nigeria.

While presenting the Brief on project, the state coordinator Mrs Bolanle Fadairo explained that the five year project is for one state beneficiary from the Six Senatorial districts in the country for phase 1, namely; Abia, Edo, Kebbi, Niger, Taraba and Ogun states.

The project which will benefit 54,000 women in the state has Ijebu North East, Odeda and Yewa North as local governments areas selected from the three Senatorial districts of the state.