The immediate past Deputy Speaker of the Eighth Legislature of the Ogun State House of Assembly and a member representing Ifo I State Constituency, Olakunle Oluomo, and his counterpart from Ijebu North II, Oludare Kadiri has emerged as the new Speaker and Deputy Speaker respectively, for the Ninth Legislature in the State.

The two newly elected Principal Officers of the Assembly emerged, following the acceptance of their nominations by a member representing Ikenne State Constituency, Olakunle Sobukola, seconded by his Yewa North I counterpart, Adegoke Adeyanju, during the inauguration ceremony of the Ninth Legislature, held at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta.

Accepting his nomination, Rt. Hon. Oluomo appreciated Almighty God and his colleague-lawmakers for their support and trust, with a promise to promote the existing mutual interdependence among the three arms of government, assuring that the Ninth Legislature would work as a partner in progress to sustain good governance and ensure delivery of democratic dividends to the grassroots.

According to him, the principle of separation of power encouraged the legislative arm to partner the executive, for the overall socio-economic development of the State.

The Speaker, reconvened to announce the names of Principal Officers to include; Honourable Yusuf Sheriff Abiodun, as Majority Leader, Bashir Oladunjoye as Deputy Majority Leader, Atinuke Bello as Chief Whip, while Sola Adams would serve as Deputy Chief Whip, Ganiyu Oyedeji as Minority Leader, Jemili Akingbade and Musefiu Olatunji, as Minority Whip and Deputy Minority Leader respectively.

Earlier, the Deputy Clerk, Deji Adeyemo reeled out the names of members-elect which included. Adejojo, Temitope (Abeokuta South 1), Adeyemi Ademuyiwa (Abeokuta South II) Modupe Mujota (Abeokuta North), Olusegun Daisi Elemide (Odeda), Olakunle Oluomo Taiwo (Ifo I), Ganiyu Oyedeji (Ifo II), Yusuff Olawale Amosun (Ewekoro), Soneye Damilola Kayode (Obafemi Owode), Oduwole Kemi Olaitan (Ijebu Ode), Fasunwa Abayomi Johnson (Ijebu North East), Sola Adams (Ijebu East), Atinuke Bello (Odogbolu), Akeem Agbolade Balogun (Ogun Waterside).

Others are, Abdul Bashir Oladunjoye (Sagamu I), Adeniran Ademola Adeyinka (Sagamu II), Solomon Oluwaseyi Osho (Remo North), Olakunle Sobukola (Ikenne), Sylvester Niyi Abiodun (Ijebu North I), Oludare Kadiri (Ijebu North II), Adegoke Adeyanju Awoso (Yewa North I), Haruna  Abiodun Wahab  (Egbado North II), Jemili Akingbade (Imeko Afon), Sikirat Omowunmi Ajibola (Ipokia ), Yusuff Sheriff Abiodun (Ado Odo Ota I), Muse Lamidi (Ado Odo Ota II) and Bolanle Lateefat Ajayi (Yewa South).

Dignitaries at the inauguration included, Senator Iyabo Anisulowo, former Speakers, Bashorun Muyiwa Oladipo, Titi Oseni-Gomez and Suraju Ishola Adekunbi, likewise former members of the State House of Assembly, former Head of Service, Elder Sola Adeyemi, party chieftains, Traditional Rulers and the body of Permanent Secretaries in the State.

In a related development, the Assembly also passed four motions bothering on Witnesses, False Evidence, (notice to) the Nigeria Police Force, Ogun State Command and Votes and Proceedings.