Oshiomhole, Daniel, Yayi, Goje, others for 10th Senate

Former Ogun State Governor Gbenga Daniel and business magnate Jimoh Ibrahim are among the first set of Senators-elect formally announced yesterday by the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC).

The others are Solomon Adeola (aka Yayi), Opeyemi Bamidele, Cyril Fasuyi, Yunus Akintunde, Yemi Adaramodu, Jimoh Ibrahim, Lola Ashiru and Nasir Sani-Zango..

But Senate Spokesman Ajibola Bashiru, Biodun Olujimi, Francis Alimekhena and Ahmad Babba-Kaita failed in their bids to return to the Red Chamber were also made formal by the electoral umpire. Bashiru is an APC senator while Olujimi is of the PDP. Alimekhena and Babba-Kaita represent Edo North and Katsina North respectively in the Senate.

In Ekiti State where the ruling APC had a clean sweep, Bamidele was reelected in Ekiti Central. He polled 69,351 votes to beat Lateef Ajijola of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), who scored. 26, 181 votes,

Fasuyi, according to INEC Returning Officer Sola Omotola, garnered 54,224 votes to defeat his closet opponent, Funsho Ayeni of the PDP in Ekiti North. Ayeni got 39,921.

Adaramodu, a serving member of the House of Representatives, beat Biodun Olujimi of the PDP .in Ekiti South. The senator-elect polled 63, 189 votes as against Olujimi’s 36, 191.

Senator Bashiru lost to PDP’s Olubiyi Fadeyi in Osun Central by polling 117,609 votes. Fadeyi had 134,229 votes

Daniel and the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance Adeola emerged victorious in Ogun East and West respectively on the platform of APC.

Daniel garnered 115,147 votes to defeat his closest rival, Ajibola Kalejaiye of the PDP, who scored 58,708 votes.

Adeola, who currently represents Lagos West defeated Ganiyu Obanibasiri of the PDP by scoring 112,887 votes. Obanibasiri 60,189.

Their victories were contained in a result sheet signed by the Returning Officer, Christopher Onwuka.

Ibrahim of the APC emerged winner by polling 110,665 votes to defeat former Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi, of the PDP in Ondo South.

INEC Returning Officer Johnson Fashimilehin said: “Having polled the highest number of votes of 110, 665 against 65, 784, I hereby declare Ibrahim of APC winner of the election in Ondo South.”

Akintunde of the APC emerged as senator-elect for Oyo Central by scoring 108,776 votes. He beat Bisi Ilaka of the PDP who had 101,213 votes.

In Edo State, INEC declared former APC National Chairman Adams Oshiomhole winner for Edo North.

He defeated incumbent Senator Francis Alimekhena of the PDP by scoring 107,110 votes. Alimekhena 55,344 votes

INEC Returning Officer Benjamin Adesina said:”Adams Oshiomhole of APC having scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared as the winner of the election conducted on the 25th of February for Edo North Senatorial District.”

Senator Ashiru, who represents Kwara South was announced reelected by INEC Returning Officer Ajibola Akanbi.

Akanbi said Ashiru of the APC polled 55,966 while Sen. Rafiu Ibrahim of the PDP scored 34,950 votes.

INEC also declared Sani-Zango of the APC as the winner for Katsina North

Sanda Umar, INEC returning officer, said Sani-Zango won with 174,062 votes to defeat the incumbent Senator, Ahmad Babba-Kaita of the PDP, who polled 163,583.

<<The Nation>>