36-year-old floors Yobe Speaker, Obasa, others win

The Independent National Electoral Commission, on Sunday, began the announcement of the results of Saturday’s Houses of Assembly elections, with upset in some places.

In Yobe State, the Speaker of the House of Assembly, Ahmed Lawan, who has been a lawmaker since 2003, was beaten to the Nguru II Constituency seat by 36-year-old candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Lawan Musa.

The Returning Officer for the election, Dr Habib Muhammad, said Musa victorious with 6,648 votes, while Lawan of the All Progressives Congress got 6,466 votes.

26-year-old wins Kwara seat
In Kwara State, 26-year-old Rukayat Shittu of the APC won the Owode/Onire Constituency seat.


The Returning Officer, Prof. Hakeem Ijaya, said Rukayat, scored 7,521 votes to beat her PDP rival who polled 6,957 votes.

Also, the Kwara State Speaker, Yakubu Danladi-Salihu of the APC, won the seat for the Ilesha-Gwanara constituency for a second term.

The Returning Officer, Dr. Adewale Rafiu, said Danladi-Salihu polled 14, 949 votes to defeat his closest rival, Usman Abubakar of the PDP, who got 2,072 votes.

Anambra Speaker loses
The Speaker, Anambra State House of Assembly, Uchenna Okafor, lost his third-term re-election bid to the PDP candidate, Abuchi Udemezue, for the Ayamelum State Constituency.

The Returning Officer, Prof. George Onwudiwe, said the PDP candidate polled 12,993 votes to defeat Okafor, who contested on the platform of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, with 11,445 votes.

Similarly, the Deputy Majority Leader of Anambra State House of Assembly and candidate of APGA for Orumba North, Emeka Aforka, lost in his second-term re-election bid to the candidate of the Labour Party, Paul Obu.

Obu scored 10,212 votes against Aforka’s 7,675 votes.

The PDP candidate, John Nwokoye, lost out to APGA’s Chimezie Ikwunne’s in Awka North.

In Anaocha 1, LP’s Ms Nkechi Ogbuefi defeated PDP’s Ebele Ejimofor, who was seeking a third term.

APC sweeps Ondo
In Ondo State, the APC won 22 out of the 26 seats in the state Assembly. The PDP won the remaining four seats.

According to the results announced by INEC, the APC won in Akure South Constituency 2, Ilaje Constituencies 1 and 2, Idanre, Ondo East, Ondo West, Ifedore, Owo 1and 2 and Ose.

The ruling party also won in Odigbo Constituencies 1 and 2, Okitipupa 1 and 2, Ese Odo, Ile-Oluji/Oke Igbo, Irele, Akoko North-East, Akoko North-West 2, and South-East State Constituencies.

Meanwhile, the PDP won in Akure State Constituencies 1, Akoko South-West Constituencies 1 and 2 and Akoko North-West 1.

Osun Speaker loses, PDP wins 25 seats
In Osun State, the Speaker of the Assembly, representing Ilesa East, Timothy Owoeye, who ran on the platform of the APC, lost his reelection bid to PDP’s Olatunbosun Oyewole.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner, Dr. Mutiu Agboke, on Sunday,announced that the ruling PDP won 25 out of the 26 seats in the Osun State House of Assembly.

The APC won only Boripe/Boluwaduro State Constituency seat where its candidate, Olufemi Popoola, polled 15,594 votes to defeat PDP’s Adesina Aina, who got 14,817 votes.

The immediate past governor of Osun State, Adegboyega Oyetola, hails from Boripe/Boluwaduro State Constituency.

Related News
BREAKING: Kano imposes dusk-to-dawn curfew as tension rises
Cross River APC gov candidate wins in 12 LGAs
Sanwo-Olu, Makinde, Abiodun, AbdulRazaq, Buni, others win
The APC, in a statement by its acting chairman, Tajudeen Lawal, said the PDP should not rejoice over the outcome of the election, which it claimed was characterised by violence.

Lawal said, “It is too early for Governor Ademola Adeleke to rejoice over the blood-and-sweat victory of the candidates of his party in yesterday’s elections across the state.”

APC sweeps Ekiti
In Ekiti State, INEC declared that APC won 23 out of the 26 seats in the state House of Assembly, while the Social Democratic Party won two seats.

Election for the remaining one state constituency was declared inconclusive.

The REC, Prof. Ayobami Salami, in a statement by the Head of Voter Education and Publicity INEC, Temitope Akanmu, said the SDP candidate, Babatunde Omotayo, won in Ise/Orun State Constituency; with 7,498 votes to beat Moses Ajayi of the APC, who scored 6,798 votes,

Also, Oladele Ogunsakin of the SDP polled 4,566 votes to win Ekiti East 1 seat, defeating Abraham Fatoba of the APC who scored 3,595 votes.

Some of the APC candidates who won in their various constituencies included the Deputy Speaker, Hakeem Jamiu (Irepodun/Ifelodun II); Chairman, House Committee on Media and Publicity, Adeoye Aribasoye (Ikole II); former Commissioner for Women Affairs, Mariam Ogunlade (Emure); former Commissioner for Environment, Iyabo Fakunle-Okhiemen (Ilejemeje); Abimbola Solanke (Moba 1); Adeyinka Adegbite (Ado 1) and Bolaji Olagbaju (Ado II).

Sponsored Stories
If You Have Nail Fungus, Do This Immediately
If You Have Nail Fungus, Do This Immediately
Sponsored | EelHoe
Thai school uniform boom in China fuels hope for tourism recovery
Thai school uniform boom in China fuels hope for tourism recovery
Sponsored | Nikkei Asia
Oyo, Lagos, Bauchi Speakers win
The Speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly and PDP candidate in the Ibarapa East state constituency, Adebo Ogundoyin, was declared winner.

The REC, John Oladeji, said Ogundoyin polled 10,039 votes to defeat APC’s Aderounmu Adeolu, who scored 7,111 votes.

Similarly, the Speaker of the Lagos House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, was re-elected for a sixth term to represent Agege 1 State Constituency on the platform of the APC.

The REC, Lukman Adeniji, declared Obasa winner with 17, 214 votes. His main challenger, Raheem Alani of the Labour Party, got 3,933 votes.

Similarly, the Speaker of the Bauchi State House of Assembly, Abubakar Suleiman, was re-elected for another term to represent Ningi State Constituency.

The REC, Prof. Shuaibu Muhammad, declared that Suleiman, who also is the Chairman, Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria, scored 16, 866 votes to defeat APC’s Khalid Abdulmalik Ningi, who scored 15, 065 votes.

Inconclusive poll in Kano
Meanwhile, INEC declared the election for the Takai Constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly inconclusive.

The REC, Prof. Usman Ibrahim, in an announcement on Sunday, said, “Even though the candidate of APC, Musa Ali, scored 24,573 votes while NNPP’s candidate scored 23,569 votes, we still have no other option than to declare the poll inconclusive. This is because elections in five polling units were cancelled due to over-voting. Now, the election will be conducted again in the five affected polling units.”

But Garba Gwarmai of the APC won Tsanyawa/ Kuchi constituency with 31,471 votes to beat his closest opponent, Mohammed Ali, of the New Nigeria People’s Party, who scored 27,864 votes.

Similarly, Mannir Musa of the NNPP won Karaye constituency with 16,306 votes to defeat Nasiru Abdullahi of the APC, who scored 14,863 votes.

Ibrahim Kundila of the APC won Shanono/Bagwai constituency with 38,021 votes to defeat Musa Aliyu of the NNPP, who got 29,983 votes.

Similarly, APC’s Salisu Ibrahim won Duguwa constituency.

Edo Speaker wins Rep seat
Meanwhile, the Speaker of the Edo State House of Assembly and PDP candidate, Marcus Onobun, has been declared winner of the House of Representatives of Esan Central/ West/ Igueben Federal Constituency in the rescheduled election.

Onobun, according to INEC returning officer, Prof Solomon Omonigho, scored 17,611 votes to defeat his APC opponent, Patrick Idiake, who polled 16,509 votes to finish second.