APC maintains lead in House of Reps with 178 seats

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has maintained a majority in the House of Representatives after winning 17 out of the 31 seats contested during Saturday’s supplementary elections in 14 States.
The APC now has about 178 members-elect in the House of Representatives followed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with about 114 seats. The opposition party won 10 out of the 31 contested seats.

The Labour Party(LP) won one seat during the just-concluded supplementary elections to increase its number in the House to 35 while the New Nigeria People’s Party(NNNP) also won one seat to increase its number to 19. APGA with one seat increased its number to five in the House.

Other parties that have won seats in the House are African Democratic Congress(ADC) with 2 seats, Social Democratic Party(SDP) with two seats and Young Progressive Party with one seat.

Winners of the supplementary elections are Alhassan Ado Doguwa (APC, Kano), Tolulope Akande Sadipe (APC, Oyo), Clement Jimbo- (APC- Akwa Ibom, Shehu Nasiru- (APC- Sokoto), Billy Osawaru – (APC-Edo), Sani Nazifi -(APC -Jigawa, Akarachi Amadi -(APC- Imo) and Mark Bako Useni- (APC- Taraba).

Others are Paul Haruna (APC -Kogi), Sani Yakubu (APC-Sokoto), Bello Ambarura (APC- Sokoto), Abdullahi Kalambaina (APC- Sokoto), Bala Abubakar (APC- Sokoto),Sa’adu Nabunkari- (APC- Sokoto),Jelani Danbuga (APC- Sokoto), Ibrahim Al-Mustapha- (APC- Sokoto) and Garba Rabi’u Kamba- (APC- Kebbi

Those who won on the platform of the PDP are Suleiman Gummi- (Zamfara), Abbas Agboworin (Oyo)

Abdussamad Dasuki (Sokoto), Bashir Usman Gorau (Sokoto), Dumnamene Dekor (Rivers), Rodney Ambaiowei (Bayelsa, Blessing Amadi (Rivers)

Kabiru Adamu (Zamfara), Umar Yusuf Yabo (Sokoto) and Salisu Garba Koko (Kebbi. The other winners are

Mohammed Bello Shehu (NNPP-Kano), Afam Victor Ogene (LP-Anambra) and Joseph Nwobashi (APGA- Ebonyi.

The result of Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency of Akwa Ibom State was suspended due to widespread violence during the supplementary election while one result from Imo state was outstanding at the time of filing this report.

<<The Nation>>