Speaker Abbas to unveil principal officers, Tuesday

Barring last-minute changes, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Tajudeen Abbas will on resumption of legislative activities on Tuesday announce the names of the Principal Officers.

Before embarking on the Sallah recess, Speaker Abbas announced members of the Selection Committee.

The Selection Committee is to be chaired by the Speaker while Deputy Speaker, Hon. Benjamin Kalu is to serve as the Deputy Chairman.

According to the Speaker, each of the 36 State and FCT Caucuses is expected to nominate one of their members as member of the Selection Committee.

As stipulated in the 10th edition of the Standing Order, the Selection Committee is responsible for the nomination of Chairmen of various Standing Committees.

Members of the ruling party, All Progressives Congress (APC) penciled down as members of the Body of Principal Officers are: Hon. Julius Ihovbere as Majority Leader.

It was also gathered Deputy Majority Leader, Hon. Abubakar Halims (APC-Kogi), Chief Whip – Usman Kumo (APC-Gombe). However, the South West lawmaker nominated for the position of Deputy Chief Whip cannot be ascertained as at the time of filing this report.

For the Minority Caucus, Hon. Kingsley Chinda was adopted as the Minority Leader, while Hon. George Ozodinobi (Labour Party – Anambra) was nominated as Deputy Minority Leader.

It be recalled that the PDP Caucus via a statement issued after the inauguration of the 10th Assembly had adopted Hon. Ali Isa (PDP – Gombe) as the Minority Whip.