Reps member seeks creation of 3 states in S-West

THE House of Representatives is set to consider a bill seeking to create three additional states in the South-West region.

The bill, which has been listed to be brought for first reading before the House of Representatives, is sponsored by the lawmaker representing Obokun/Oriade Federal Constituency, Osun State, Mr. Oluwole Oke.
Oke, who chairs the House Committee on Judiciary, is proposing the bill seeking the creation of Oke-Ogun, Ijebu and Ife-Ijesa States.

The proposed bill titled ‘A Bill for an Act to amend the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 (as amended)’ in the amendment of the First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution reads: “The First Schedule, Part I of the Constitution is amended by introducing new states and reducing the number of Local Government Areas.”

In the drafted bill, Ijebu State when created will include Ijebu East, Ijebu North East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North and Sagamu Local Government Areas. The proposed capital city for Ijebu State is Ijebu Ode.

While Oke-Ogun State, with Iseyin as the proposed capital city, would consist of 12 Local Government Areas including Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola and Iseyin.

Also, Ife Ijesa State will be made of 11 LGAs made up of “Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North and Ife South.

Others are Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Oboku and Oriade.

The Bill, according to the lawmaker, is cited as “The Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (Amendment Bill, 2024.”

The bill if passed , the region would surpass the North-West which currently has seven states, the highest among the other zones of North-Central, North-East, South-West, South-South-South and South-East.